Handicap scoring
Question
I am in a match play handicap league. Acording to the rules of match play You may concede your aponents next shot. player 1 has a 10ft. put for par(4). Player 2 has a 8ft. put for a 5. Plyer one makes his par.He concedes player 2 put put for 5. If player 2 is given a 5 when he might have made a 6 or 7 would this not afect his handicap standing?
Answer
Doug,
It may affect his handicap but this is the way the USGA would like all match play events to be handled. I called a USGA official by the name of Mark. If your opponent is lying four with a ten foot putt and you concede the putt, he would have scored a 5 for that hole.
Thanks for the question,
Michael Hoffman
PGA Professional
Handicap Calculation
Putting and pracice