Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Forfeiting a game

2016/7/15 18:00:06


Question
We had a recent incident where our team was short of a full team for our softball game at the start.  We had 9 players, but not 10, so our coach put in another player who recently played the game prior to us at right field.  The opposing coach, after letting 2 of his players bat, and let himself bat, then told the homeplate umpire that since the player in right field had recently played and wasn't on our original roster, that the game should be a forfeit by us.  The rules for the Army installation softball league doesnt specify anything about this rule, but it does state that all rules are superceeded by all ASA and other softball organizations.  Is there a rule that backs this up, or were we bamboozled since none of us are very familiar with ASA rules.  We would like to protest the ruling, since none of the umpires even bothered to explain it to us due to their lack of knowledge on the matter.  The only person who knows about the rule was the opposing coach who brought it up.  Thanks for any help in the matter.

Answer
Good morning Ken,
I assume you are in the Army, if so THANK YOU for your service.  My son is a Marine (E-4, sorry you couldn't get into that branch of the service...just kidding)

This answer assumes that your local rules are not superceded by ASA rules. Ok, under ASA rules you can play shorthanded with 9 and take an out in the 10th position.

If you use an ileligible player (someone not on your roster) the game is subject to forfeit.  The opposing team makes a protest with the umpire who notes the protest.  The game continues and the softball supervisor or a similar postion rules on the protest when they get it.  In ASA ball the umpire does not rule on eligibility.

Hope this helps---stay safe!
Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
wild pitch contributes to earned run
Double Play
Two Fair or Foul Questions
8U Lefty Softball Player
Hit by a throw
umpire decision
Coed Force out rule
quick pitch?
reestablishing force?
More Great Links

nervous about middle school tryouts

Questionok, so i have middle school softball tryouts next wed. and thrus. I have never tried o

Interference?...Penalty?

QuestionI have read through the rules on this and I am pretty sure I know the right answer...wa

16 softball

Questionrunner on first, pitcher attempts pick-off on same runner who is leading off first. The

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved