Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping
Softball  Outdoor sports > Outdoor Sports FAQS > Ball Games Rules Skills > Softball > Free Substitution During an At Bat

Free Substitution During an At Bat

2016/7/15 17:48:56


Question
I have a question regarding a scenario that happened this weekend at our slow pitch year end tourney.

A player was up to bat and had swung and missed for a strike.  His team opted to pull him out of his at bat and replace him with another hitter, not already in the line-up (pinch hitter).

Once a person starts an at bat, is this allowed?

The Head Ump cited free substitution as the reasoning for allowing it, but it just doesn't seem right to me.

Sincerely,

Brad Gray
Slow Pitch Board of Directors

Answer
Thanks for the question!

In the ASA world, (and all other forms of ball I know of) this is allowed.  While it hardly (if ever, I've NEVER had this happen to me) happens, it is a legal form of subsitiution.  However the new batter must assume the count of the previous batter.

I hope this helps answer your question, if not please reply!
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Runners on first and third situation
Two runners occupy same base
fielder control
pitching problem
over turning a foul ball
Batting out of order / sub.
softball foul tip
Sticky towel?
Umpire interference with batter-runner
More Great Links

Illegal slow pitch bats

QuestionI was wondering if you knew the rulings on suspected altered bats? is there a way to ha

Double Jeopardy?

QuestionLast night at the ballpark in between my boys ball games, there was an interesting play

IFF and Interference

QuestionQuestion regarding IFF and interference.  This came about from a  real scenar

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved