Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

out of order batter

2016/7/15 17:35:14


Question
We have a huge controversy in our division.  The last game we played the opposing team received an out for batting out of order, but they said they asked the score keeper the order and was told the wrong answer.  When they sent the wrong batter up, our team caught the mistake and pointed it out to umpire, which called the batter out.  The opposing team protested after the game and now our parks and rec want us to play the bottom of the last inning over.  This would not be such a problem, but it was in tournament play and the winning team plays in game to determine 1st place team for the season. Is it a rule that we should play the bottom of the inning again or did the ump make the right call?  Isn't the coach responsible for keeping up with batting order?  The parks and rec dept. abides by ASA rules.  This was a male coach's pitch 8 and under game.

Answer
Hi Amy,

Under ASA rules

"When they sent the wrong batter up, our team caught the mistake and pointed it out to umpire, which called the batter out"  

The batter is simply replaced with the correct batter who assumes any ball and strike count.  It doesn't matter who discovered it (offense or defense) if the turn at bat is not complete, we simply replace them, it is not an out.

The defense should always allow an out of turn batter to complete their turn at bat and then protest BEFORE the next legal or illegal pitch to the next batter, the penalties are greater for the offense.

"The opposing team protested after the game and now our parks and rec want us to play the bottom of the last inning"

the protest, if it was made correctly should be upheld because the umpire made a mis-application of the playing rules, again simply replace the batter with the correct one, no out is called, but you start back exactly where in the game where the mistake was made, not redo the whole 1/2 inning.

Each team should keep their own book to avoid mistakes like this one. If the scorer is "official" they also bear some responsibility but the major mistake was the umpire calling the batter out.

Mark

  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Called out for being off first base
Runner hit by thrown ball in a run down
Runner entering team area
Passed balls vs wild pitch
define fly ball
runners taking bases on overthrown ball
fair or foul ball?
DP/Flex - illegal sub
Soft-tossing to self
More Great Links

Soft-tossing to self

QuestionMy daughter plays 16U travel ball and also gets weekly college-level hitting instructio

Wreck vs. Interference

QuestionHi Mark, Thanks again for your expertise on this site.  I cant tell you enough ho

Scoring Error?

QuestionWith a runner at 2nd base, a ground ball is hit which reaches an outfielder.  The

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved