batted balls and batting out of order
2016/7/15 17:24:34
Question
We just had two interesting "plays" in our slow pitch league (ASA rules). 1. A ball was swung at that did not leave the batters box it ended up in the far left of the batters box of a right handed hitter. What's the call? 2. The sixth inning started, in the previous inning I was given a substitution for the batter who would be up 6th in the inning. Instead the substitute batted for the FIRST batter of the inning. I noticed it after the batter was out on foul but BEFORE the next batter entered the batters box. My question is what is the proper call AND can the illegal substitute bat for the the batter he was supposed to in the same inning?
Answer
Hi Eric,
If the ball settles or is 1st touched in fair territory it is a fair ball, so this would be a fair ball.
If I understand correctly, you simply have a have an out of order batter. If appealed by the defense before the next pitch legal or illegal
1) the batter who should have batted is out
2) all outs stand, so now you have 2 outs
3) the next batter is the one who follows the batter who should have batted
last question, yes.
Mark
- Prev:Bunt, ball or strike
- Next:Pulling up JV players to play in tournament