Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Fair/Foul & Foul tip

2016/7/15 17:23:52


Question
QUESTION: Tom - two questions:  (1) if a batted ball rolls foul and then back into fair territory before 3rd base and before being touched - fair or foul?  (2) first pitch of the game is a foul tip caught by catcher - out #1 or strike 1?  Thanks.

John

ANSWER: John

(1) Fair ball

(2) Strike One

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Tom - thanks for the responses.  Is a foul tip caught by the catcher only an out when it is the 3rd strike?

Thanks again,
John

Answer
John,

The short answer is yes.

Although the rule book defines a foul tip so that it is not confused with a foul ball, a foul tip is treated as any other strike.  The ball is live not dead like a foul ball.  This means runners can steal or anything else can happen that normally would happen when the ball is live.

Tom
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Infield Fly Rule Clarification
rounding first base after a walk
batted ball hits runner
proper stance in the box
Batter-Runner overrunning First
asa rule book
Time out rules
fair/foul ball ?
ASA Rules on number of innings pitched
More Great Links

illegal fast pitches N.F.H.S., A.S.A.

QuestionWhen the pitcher seperates her hands, on the pitchers plate, her next more has to be to

Running with bat...

QuestionHere is the situation.  Under 8 girls softball game.  Top of the 6th inning.

fair catch

Questiona player attemps to catch ball in fair territory and arm crosses in to foul territory c

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved