Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

obstructing runner

2016/7/15 17:13:55


Question
14U rec league.  Short stop missed two earleir opoortunites to field and throw for an out.  So now there are runners ofn first and second.
 Defensive coach yells at Shorstop"Emily--watch the ball all the eway to your golve".
 New hitter sends a hit towards Emily. She runs toward ball-- HEAD DOWN  to the ground. She runs in front  of runner coming from second who "kinda" touches Emily. Meanwhile,  the very quick Pitcher slides over to snag the ball, and throw out the runner at third.   Runner ruled out at three. . Offensive coach want "interference with runner becasue of course Emily never had the ball at the time of the contact with the runner.
 I rule, "its 14U REC quality, safety first,  runner should not run into a kid who has  her head down trying to FINALLY make a play.

 If the kids were high school land/or tournamant caliber I  think I  would have ruled Interference with the runner.

Answer
Hi Terry,

Offensive players "interfere", defensive players "obstruct"

interference is the act of an offensive player that hinders a defensive player attempting to execute a play

obstruction is the act of a defensive player not in possession of the ball or not in the act of fielding a batted ball that impedes the progress of a runner legally running the bases.

You probably had 1 or the other but it's up to you how you want to call or not call it

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Foul ball caught but called out of play
Interference on throw to second
runner hit by battad ball
ASA girls softbal rubber dimensions
Disabilities Act-Slow pitch softball
Runner doubled up question
10U allowed to Bunt
Official scoring - strikeout
Umpiring Calls
More Great Links

10 U ASA Rules

QuestionCan you steal home? How many bases can you steal at once? Is the drop third rule in aff

Who is the error charged to

QuestionIf the short stop fields a ground ball and short hops the throw to first and the first

Batter interference with catcher

QuestionHi, Im a long time HS girls FP ump. Last nite in a game we had an unusual situation tha

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved