Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

base on balls stealing

2016/7/15 17:09:54


Question
upon getting a base on balls (a walk) and the runner rounds 1st base towards second base while the pitcher is in the pitching circle with the ball. Does the runner have to advance to second?  If they return to 1st are they automatically out?

Answer
Hi Barney,

A b-r has the right to round 1st base, stop once, (some umpires use 1001,1002 although that's not in the book) and then immediately advance or retreat if the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle.  The LBR does not go into effect until the b-r touches 1st.

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
ineligible player
rundown in softball
Bat Decals
softball pitching and batting rule
Baserunning, ASA
dropped-3rd... does run count?
Base runner force outs
Height of pitchers
2 intentional walks in a row...
More Great Links

Force Out Play

QuestionSituation: Bases loaded, two outs. Batter safely hits the ball to centerfield which is

Clarification

QuestionQuestion for you: Runner on first base 1 out. Deep fly hit to right, misplayed by the

softball scoring situation

QuestionHi!   Im the scorekeeper for a 12-13 year old girls team in our town rec lea

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved