ASA fastpitch softball
2016/7/15 17:08:59
Question
The opponents runner received ball four and ran to 1B. She rounded the bag toward 2B and then returned to 1B. My catcherhad immediatel thrown the ball back to the pitcher. My pitcher had the ball in the circle and made no attempt to make a play on the runner. I say the runner is out. The umpire said "no". He states you treat a walk just like a hit and the runner is allowed to round the bag if she doesn't stop but immediately retreats back to 1B. He said as long as she does not go back and forth but retreats to 1B immediately she's OK. I say she rounds 1B and has to STOP to change directions to retreat back to 1B ??!! Who's correct and what ASA rule did you cite?
Answer
Hi Paul,
The umpire is 95% correct and did make the correct call or non call in this case, the b-r may round 1st, MAY STOP once and then immediately advance or retreat. Remember regardless of the pitcher having the ball in the circle the LBR does not go into effect until the b-r touches 1st
Here's the part of the rule you requested. 8-7-t-3. Responsibilities of the batter-runner after touching first base, and
while the pitcher has control of the ball within the eight foot radius
of the pitcher抯 plate. This includes a base on balls or a dropped
third strike.
a. A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base
may stop once, but then must immediately non-stop return to
first base or attempt to advance non-stop to second base.
Mark
- Prev:fastpitch softball - presenting the ball
- Next:SENIOR SLOW PITCH SOFTBALL