Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping
Softball  Outdoor sports > Outdoor Sports FAQS > Ball Games Rules Skills > Softball > Runner Interference and Infield Fly

Runner Interference and Infield Fly

2016/7/15 17:07:33


Question
In a recent ASA Women's tournament, a team had runners on 1st and 2nd base with 2 outs. The batter hit a pop fly in front of 1st base and the home plate umpire called infield fly, obviously as a mistake. As the pop fly was in the air the runner broke from 1st base. The 1st baseman, coming up to make a play collided w/the runner. The ball as a result hit the ground. Since "infield fly batter out" was called by the home plate umpire, the batter turned around to walk to the dugout. In the meantime the 1st baseman recovered from the collision, picked up the ball and touched first base to assure the out as the batter was walking back to the dugout.
After the play you can imagine the confusion and controversy. The umpire, realizing his mistake of calling infield fly when there were 2 outs in the inning, awarded the runner 1st base and continued the inning.

First question: Is this considered runner interference due to the runner making contact w/the first baseman attempting to catch the ball or is it still a judgement call for the umpire?

Secondly: Since the umpire called infield fly w/2 outs, based on the results that followed what would be the correct call?

Answer
Hi Darrin,

When F3 collided w/ R2 we have interference, dead ball R2 is out.  Since there were 2 outs we need not address any other issue, 1/2 inning over.

Next...."First question: Is this considered runner interference due to the runner making contact w/the first baseman attempting to catch the ball or is it still a judgement call for the umpire?"  

I don't understand this question.  Interference is always a judgment call if an offensive player impeded, hindered or confused a defensive player attempting to execute a play.  The offensive player must vacate or not enter any space needed for the defense to make a play.  Intent is not a consideration.

"Secondly: Since the umpire called infield fly w/2 outs, based on the results that followed what would be the correct call?"  see 1st sentence.

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
travesty of the game
bounced pitch hits batter
Mental Toughness
Timing Play
Sacrifice terms
Skunk-in-the-Grass
overthrow at third
Defensive team coach on field
scoring for a dropped third strike
More Great Links

on base positioning

Questionhello, my daughter,8, tries to mimic the local varsity team. She stands on the bases ju

Dead Ball Advancement

QuestionThere was a runner on first base with less than two outs.  The ball was popped up

Tournament brackets

QuestionWe recently received tournament brackets (5 teams). The schedule of games were as follo

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved