Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Errors?

2016/7/15 17:04:45


Question
If the second baseman goes to their right to backhand a hard hit ball going up the middle and the ball hits their glove and bounces out, leaving not enough time for a play, is that an error?  
I've always thought I understood it by definition as an error if you don't make "the routine play".  Can you help clear this up...for infielding,  Thanks, Jerry

Answer
I think your understanding of what is an error is as correct as it gets.  The higher the level the ball the more likely what you describe is an error.  This type of scoring decision is subjective.  I always ask myself, should she have made that play?  It may be tougher than routine, but should the play have been made.  If you are not sure, the batter always gets the benefit of the doubt.

Tom
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
fastpitch pitching stance
Ball hit, but doesnt leave the batters box
ASA on calling time
Must Slide Rule
softball third strike rule
Blocking the Catchers view of the pitch
Proper fastpitch softball pitching motion
sliding rules
Re: Fly Ball
More Great Links

runner getting hit by a ball

QuestionA player from our slow-pitch mens league team had batted and after overrunning second b

ineligible player

QuestionMark, Womens Slow Pitch In our local league tournament a player for the visiting team

where is my power?

QuestionI can KILL an inside pitch but, I love going oppo.  How can I practice hitting for

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved