Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

what is an error

2016/7/15 17:01:51


Question
In a girl's fast pitch 12u game (travel team), batter hits a ball up the middle that neither the pitcher nor second baseman touch.  It is possible 2nd baseman could have made play, but did not.  Batter gets to 2nd base.  Is this an error?  a double?  a single? I was always understood it was not an error if there was no glove on it.
Thank you.

Answer
Lisa,

When judging an error, is isn't always necessary to get a glove on the ball before an error can be scored.  You can also score a hit if the ball does hit the glove but simply wasn't playable.  Basically you look at the play and judge, "should they have been able to make the play".  You don't give errors for mental errors and when unsure, you always give the benefit of the doubt to the batter when scoring.

In your situation, I would score a double!

Tom
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Players pick by their ability to go to state?
Injured player
DP/Flex
age 15
Games
SP softball umpire positioning
fastpitch softball - little league - williamsport 12 & under, 10 and under
basic position
Run
More Great Links

Off base

QuestionRich, We do not allow stealing in our league, and yes, I am still stuck in the mud see

catchers blocking the home plate

QuestionWhat is the official ruling for catchers blocking home plate? AnswerKen, great questio

Skunk-in-the-Grass

QuestionRunners on first (R1) and third (R3) with no outs. After the pitch leaves the pitchers

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved