Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping
Softball  Outdoor sports > Outdoor Sports FAQS > Ball Games Rules Skills > Softball > off interference on 3rd base coach

off interference on 3rd base coach

2016/7/15 16:54:54


Question
slow pitch asa----runners on  2nd and 3rd--single to the outfield runner on 3rd scores,r2 runs into the coach,the throw was to the plate,the ump ruled r2 out and returned r3 to third,can't a run score prior to any interference?tks

Answer
Hi jimmy

I didn't see what happened but I can't see this being coach's interference, just running into a coach is not coach's interference, it might have been assisting the runner but I'll give you both answers

interference, dead ball, runner is out all other return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.  We would not put a runner back on 3rd if they had already scored.

Assisting a runner, runner is out but ball remains live, again we do not put runners back on that call.

Either way I think this one was missed and remember the "P" word can be your friend.

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
strike zone again
Mens Sofball
game situation
exercises
weather delays
Rule for runner for asa slowpitch
1st base footwork
Runner hit by thrown ball while on base
saftey bag and dropped 3rd strike
More Great Links

guarding 1st base in asa high school softball

QuestionDr. Ambrose, Can a first baseperson stand directly over 1st base covering the area phyi

ASA - DP/FLEX girls Fastpitch

QuestionAt a tournament this past weekend I asked the UIC if I could put my DP in to pitch. &nb

winning pitcher

QuestionQUESTION: Starting pitcher pitches the first 4 complete inning, no runs allowed and sco

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved