Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping
Softball  Outdoor sports > Outdoor Sports FAQS > Ball Games Rules Skills > Softball > timing play on an appeal play

timing play on an appeal play

2016/7/15 16:52:44


Question
one out, runners on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits a fly ball to outfield that is caught the runner on first is doubled off going back to first, but before that the runner on third scores. Does the run count?

Answer
Hi Bill,

Thank you for your question.  Your play is referred to as a time play or timing play.  The runner on 1B left before the fly ball was touched/caught, then was called out on a live ball appeal play.  Before she was doubled off, however, the runner on 3B scored, so the run DOES count.  Now, if the live ball appeal out would have occurred before the runner on 3B scored, then the run would NOT have counted.

Scott Kelly  
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Batter interference with catcher
12U girls fastpitch softball
9-10 little league stealing
umpire dialog with players
nervous about middle school tryouts
USSSA vs. ASA rules
Girls Fast Pitch High School Delayed Ball Call
catchers interference
asa rules
More Great Links

obstruction or interference?

QuestionIn a 15-U girls fastpitch softball game tonight we had a very controversial call made b

Ejected player

QuestionWhat is the rule for  the 2 game suspension if the games are rained out. Does the

Pitching speed chart by age

QuestionLarry I read a question that you answered about 12U pitching speed. Is the speed taken

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved