Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping
Softball  Outdoor sports > Outdoor Sports FAQS > Ball Games Rules Skills > Softball > batter/runner interference

batter/runner interference

2016/7/15 16:52:28


Question
Had a situation where runner on 3rd and three balls on the batter.Next pitch - ball 4 gets by the catcher. Batter heads toward first and the runner on third goes home.Catcher recovers the ball and throws toward the pitcher-hitting the batter who had evacuated toward first.Play would not have been close at home. What it the correct call?

Answer
Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your question.  I interpreted your phrases "heads toward first" and "had evacuated toward first" to mean that the batter/runner had vacated the batter's box on her way to 1B.  So, the instant the thrown ball struck her it became dead and she was out for interfering with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box.  The runner who was on 3B is returned.  

Scott Kelly

  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
NCAA softball pitching
Hitting a curve or drop ball
Hit by fair batted ball
Who won?
Batter out of box interference
ASA - DP/FLEX girls Fastpitch
bating
Tagging up on a bobble
photography
More Great Links

Walk/Stealing bases

QuestionHello, this is my daughters first year of playing and Im not too fond about the rules i

Rule on a batters in the batters box

QuestionI have a local asa umpire who keeps moving my hitters back of the plate.  When I a

running out of the baseline

QuestionIf there are runners at first and second and the ball is hit to the shortstop who is in

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved