Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Substitutes

2016/7/15 16:51:50


Question
According to rule: any starter or sub may re-enter the game once. My question is; "Can a starter (wearing #24 and batting 2nd) on the bench replaced by #6 come back in as a courtesy runner for (catcher batting #8)?" And if yes, "can she later come back in to replace #6?"

Answer
Hello Sir,

Thank you for your question.  I hope you don't mind that I changed your question from private to public.  We are allowed to do that if the question contains no personal information.  

No, starter #24, who was replaced by substitute #6, cannot re-enter as a courtesy runner.  Only bench players who haven't had any other role in the game (other than as courtesy runner!) can courtesy run.  Of course, #24 can re-enter for #6, or for #6's substitute, etc.

Scott Kelly  
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
2015 ASA rules misprint 8-7-Q
Bats
Force Out Play
stealing?
balk in softball
10 & under softball rules
Reporting substitutions
fly ball, base running
Proper use of the colored first base bag
More Great Links

Softball time limit

QuestionThe visiting team is up to bat and are behind. The time expires during their at bat. Is

14&under asa girls fastpitch

Questionbases loaded two outs ,dropped third strike. batter runs. that puts  four runners

softball pitching and batting rule

QuestionI have 2 questions. Both are based on situations I have seen called different ways by d

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved