Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

a couple of questions

2016/7/15 16:45:32


Question
1st question

Slow pitch softball, pitcher pitches ball, and without swinging the ball tips off the barrel of the batter's bat.   I called a foul tip... is that correct?  

2nd question

batter in batters box , takes a ball... the pitcher pitches ball again, I call a second strike, batter's front foot looks to be partially out of the batters box, batter complains, claiming that he is out of the box.... he had not called 'time' or anything so he gets mad.... Does the battter need to say  anything... in this situation?  or  should I have noticed he had stepped out....
I was watching the pitcher, and did not notice this...should I have called time?

Answer
Hi Greg,

It would be a "foul ball" not a foul tip unless it went sharply and directly from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove.

If a batter wants time they have to ask for it.  they could be completely out of the box and a pitch could still be a strike (or ball).

mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
Base-running
Cast
Force out vs tag out
Foul ball??
Safe or out?
more info
Defensive team coach on field
ASA INFIELD FLY RULE
suspending game for darkness
More Great Links

BOO in COED

QuestionWe had a call recently where B9(male) batted in front of B8 (female).  The appeal

Over throw question

QuestionThe situation...R1 on 1st base and no outs. On the pitch, R1 attempts to steal 2nd base

rule book on game field

QuestionMy question is this ... Is there a rule that states if a coach or asst. brings a rule b

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved