Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

no-look rule

2016/7/15 16:44:26


Question
When a runner is off base and the ball is in play, We have always refered to it as 'committment" the runner has to commit to a base once the ball is in the circle. We have always believed it could be any player, not just the pitcher. For example when runners have the possibility to score, the pitcher backs up home and first base comes to the middle infield to take the cut off. She can now hold the ball in the circle to make any other base runners commit. It this true?

Answer
Hi wade,

You're talking about what is officially referred to as the "look back" rule.  Any league can certainly alter it to it their game which you seem to have done, but in strict rule play the look back rule applies only when the pitcher, and only the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle.  No other position can cause the rule to go into effect.

My personal opinion is allowing another position to use the rule in the situation you describe puts the offense at a disadvantage the rule was not meant to have.

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
batting accuracy
Pitcher in the Basepath
Lights Shut off during a play
Continuation rule..Ball 4
Rating tryout players
Four-seam vs. two-seam grip for beginning pitchers
Fielders Choice or Hit
Pitcher with fear
Playoff game called to darkness/batting order
More Great Links

pitching limits 12u

QuestionAre there any pitching restrictions by age for NAFA or ASA. Maximum number of innings?

Ball Travels Out of Bounds...

QuestionQUESTION: Dear Dr. Mark R Ambrose, During a game tonight, the following happened: We

Courtesy Runner Penalty

QuestionQUESTION: I am looking for the penalty / effect in the ASA rule book for using the wron

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved