Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

Strikeout/Wild Pitch

2016/7/15 16:41:58


Question
Please accept my thanks for answering my earlier question. As a follow-up, even though I believe the rule states that the pitch is a wild pitch if the catcher cannot catch it with a normal effort and the catcher did catch it easily, but stood there due to not knowing the rule (thus allowing the runner to reach first), this would still be considered a wild pitch?

Once again thanks for the information.

Answer
You are correct about your definition of a a past ball v a wild pitch.  

A wild pitch is also any pitch the hits the dirt prior to reaching the catcher and allows a runner to advance.

This link should help you

http://www.whitbygirlssoftball.com/resourcz/files/atec.pdf

Look under "Pitching Wild pitches/Passed Balls"

Tom
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
asa rule book
slow pitch
Scoring on 3rd out
Shorthanded player rule
asa fast pitch.
Is this good
Verbal Interference by defensive player in slow pitch softball
running to first base after being called out
Rule Clarification
More Great Links

runner intereference

QuestionQUESTION: Had a play tonite in which bases are loaded with 2 outs. Batter hits a ground

ASA fast pitch pitching rule

QuestionOur pitcher was called for an illegal pitch for going to her mouth without wiping it of

Bat hitting live ball....

QuestionBatter bunts ball into fair territory and while dropping the bat, it makes contact with

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved