Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

BOO in COED

2016/7/15 16:38:28


Question
We had a call recently where B9(male) batted in front of B8 (female).  The appeal was made by the defense after the first pitch where the umpire simply replaced B9 with B8 and she assumed the 2-1 count without penalty.  Was this the correct call?  Everyone on the defense was furious because they felt B9 should have been ruled out.

Answer
Hi Bryan,

They can be furious all they want, that's just another very common case of some people who play the game not knowing the rules and bitching about the proper call.

In ASA if a batter is found BOO while still at bat either by the offense or defense they are simply replaced by the proper batter who assumes the count.  There is no penalty.  ASA 7-2-d

If the defense had understood the basic BOO rules they would have waited until B9 had completed their turn at bat, then appealed the BOO in which case they could have gotten on out on B8.

Mark
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
interference/in baseline going to first
scoring / calculation
Questions Softball
Injured Player Batting Line Up
Ball hit, but doesnt leave the batters box
base on balls stealing
The strike zone in slow pitch softball.
ASA rules for interference
two man umpire mechanics
More Great Links

Coaches Conferences

QuestionHi Scott, I coach 12U fastpitch and there is a coach in our league who while coaching t

Runner not being given time.

QuestionI had a runner advance to third she did not need to slide because the play was not real

Runners on first and third situation

QuestionRunners on first and third.  Runner on first takes second, but walks very slowly t

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved