Home Outdoor Sports FAQS Fishing Golf swimming Skiing and Skating Cycling Climbing Other Outdoor Sports Camping

NFHS look-back play

2016/7/15 16:37:24


Question
R1 on second and batter gets first with ball four. Batter-runner legally runs to and steps on first, but then takes three or four steps towards second, stops and then returns to first base. Pitcher has ball in circle and doesn't make a play on batter-runner. Should the batter-runner be called out....ie look-back rule? R1 legally returns to second.

Answer
As long as there was not a hesitation when the batter/runner stopped and then returned to first, the batter/runner would not be out.  If there was a noticeable hesitation, then the runner should be called out.

This is assuming that the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle and is not making a play or attempting/faking a play on the other runner.  
  1. Prev:
  2. Next:
Related Articles
16 softball
forced runners must advance
private question
Outfielders in Softball
NSA 12 & U FAST PITCH GIRLS SOFTBALL
awards on throws that go out of play
player
Pitcher - present the ball
appeals
More Great Links

stretching

QuestionHi. which is more beneficial, static or dynamic stretching prior to practice or games?

Flex Substitution

QuestionQUESTION: The first baseman fielded a ball and on her way to beat the runner the 1B jum

softball- fielders choice

Questionwhat is a fielders choice? I hear people say stuff like its a fielders choice but i don

Contact management E-mail : [email protected]

Copyright © 2005-2016 Outdoor sports All Rights Reserved