first base double bag
Question
QUESTION: In slow-pitch softball, if the runner gets to first base and touches the white part
of the double bag with his foot...is he out?
ANSWER: Hi Matt,
it depends, if it's a hit to the outfield and no play it's ok or if the throw is coming from 1st base side foul territory or if an errant throw pulls the defense into foul territory, either player can use either base.
IF there is a regular play and the b-r only touches the white, the defense must appeal before the runner returns to the base for an out.
Mark
---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------
QUESTION: Here is what happened. There was a ground ball hit and the play was at first.
The baserunner clearly made it to first base before the ball. The baserunner
touched the orange part and ran through the base but the umpire called him out
because part of his foot also touched the white part of the base. It was the
difference in the outcome of the ballgame. What is the right call, out or safe?
Answer
Hi matt,
the rules only state the b-r must use the orange (or whatever color it is) It doesn't state all of the orange or 51% of it..touching any part of the orange qualifies. The rule states the b-r is out...when touching only the white portion. "Only" here is the key. You should have brought out the "P" word if the umpire said they were out for touching "part" of the white.
Plus did the umpire call the b-r out w/out an appeal? That would also be incorrect in any case.
Mark
Scoring on 3rd out
softball triple play