out of baseline ruling
Question
QUESTION: Runners on first and third, two out. Line drive hit to center, runners advance. BUT: runner on first gets to vicinity of second base but does not touch it (he couldn't find it, it was dirty and looked like the dirt around it). Runner on third, meanwhile, has scored. Runner from first takes two or three stepa away from second base. Ball is thrown to shortstop who does NOT tag the base or the runner. Umpire calls the runner out for being out of the baseline, making it the third out. When asked about the run scoring, the umpire declares the play a force out, negating the run.
Was this the correct call?
ANSWER: Sorry for the delay...out of town....
I do not at all understand the "out of the baseline" call, but if in fact he was, then the rest is correct.....It is considered a force out & the run does not score....
I am not clear on when the out of the baseline occurred...between home & first, first & second, or second & third?????
Thanks, Andy
---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------
QUESTION: Andy,
Thanks for your response. FYI, the runner in our opinion was not out of the baseline. In fact, after wandering around for a few seconds, he found second base and stepped on it. Again, no tag was made, either of the runner or the base. However, the ump insisted he was "out of the baseline". We then argued that there was no force play and that the run from third should count, since the runner crossed the plate before the "out of baseline" call.
I read your answer, however, as saying that in this situation, if the runner truly is out of the baseline between first and second after a fairly batted ball occurs, then it is in fact a force out and the runner from third does not score.
I'm the grandpa in this instance and we're talking about 11 year old kids and local umps who do a pretty good job (surprisingly good, I'd say). This situation was a first for me in many years of playing and watching baseball. Plus, the kids just moved from 60 to 70 foot basepaths so our guys are not comfortable yet. The poor runner stood out there for a second or two with his hands up. When he came in he said he couldn't see the base.
So, to conclude:
Given that the ump made the "out of baseline" call on the runner going from first to second, this does count as a force out and the run does not score.
Andy, thanks again for taking the time to respond.
Jack Gavin
Answer
If, in fact, the base was dirty or covered, etc., that's the ump's responsibility to clean it or ask the player to clean it. That's what we do in high school & SEC, just turn around & ask the player to "clear the base please"....
Sounds like toe incorrect call was made as to the baseline, but the correct call was made regarding the force out....Good luck w/ the rest of your season...
Andy
little luegue pitchers
Too many foul ball (Under the ball)